I chose this expression for the title of my blog after it was commented upon by someone who read one of my short stories: “Love” which I suspect will appear here at some point soon. The context was baking (the Short about the love and care that goes into making cake!) and I’ve always thought that the making-and-baking process was just a little piece of magic, right there in your own kitchen.

Anyway, ‘everyday alchemy’ seemed to be a good way to describe not only this most ordinary thing, but also the other little things in life that we take for granted yet also possess their own little piece of magic. It’s those kinds of things I write about, so there you have it.

A slight fly in the ointment was that the blog name was unavailable for use – hence shortsnthoughts, so please forgive this little workaround!